Healthy living

Seven days raw vegan

I went vegetarian in late 2013, and spent the next two and a half years playing with a mostly vegan diet. After attending Asheville’s VegFest last year (it was awesome, and you should absolutely go if you get the chance), I took the plunge and went 100% vegan.

IMG_3354
Eating banh mi at VegFest with my vegan soulmate

Now, I want to experiment with a high-raw diet.

So what exactly is a high-raw diet? According to Google, a high-raw diet is classified as “eating more raw food than cooked food.” I have always felt phenomenal when I have eaten lots of fresh fruits, smoothies, veggies, and salads. I want to see how good I can feel if I really try to make raw fruits and veggies the central part of my diet.

I’m not pledging to go 100% raw for any lengthy period of time; after all, a lot of my blog is about balance. However, I am going to try to go completely raw for one full week (except for a cup of coffee in the morning, because I’m just not willing to give that up).

What’s the point of going totally raw for a week? Mostly, I want to reset my taste buds and see what I like and don’t like about raw recipes and meals. Then, I can reintroduce whole plant foods back into my diet as I see fit.

I know this seems extreme to a lot of people, but I’m really excited to see how I feel, how I budget for this dietary shift, and what it does for my body and my energy.

Have you ever tried a diet other people saw as extreme? Have you ever eaten a raw vegan meal? If you have any good recipes, leave them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

