Healthy living

The 5 am club

If you’ve been following my blog at all, you know that I am not a morning person. I look at people who get up at 5 am to do stuff with amused skepticism. C’mon, you don’t really feel better when you work out before the sun has even thought about coming up, do you?

Well, given that my schedule is now insanely hectic, I’ve come to the unfortunate realization that I’m going to have to join the 5 am club if I want to keep any kind of balance in my life.

Tuesday morning, I started the painful process of a 5 am wake up call. Shocker: I’m a big baby and it wasn’t that bad. As much as I rag on morning people, I do truly enjoy the early morning hours. I just usually enjoy my bed far more.

20130911-092013.jpg

Note the super hot I-just-rolled-out-of-bed selfie.

I hit a 5k before 6:15 am and then spent some time getting myself spiritually fit to face the day.

20130911-092207.jpg

I liked it so much, I talked myself into doing it again this morning.

Let’s get something straight. I’m not saying that I am thrilled to get out of bed at the crack of dawn. I’m saying once I get up, it’s actually a pleasant way to start my day. I felt much more prepared to tackle my daily tasks by getting in some time just for me first.

Maybe the “morning people” are onto something.

Leave a Reply

