Get fit · Healthy living

Urban oasis

I didn’t used to like the outdoors. It was too cold, or too hot, or too dirty, or too buggy. Lame. My excuses were lame.

These days I love getting active outdoors. I don’t know when that change happened, but I think that getting more comfortable with who I am has made me feel happier and more whole outdoors. Plus, not being able to see how many calories I was burning while exercising used to be super anxiety producing, and now it’s really liberating. I get to focus on just having fun instead of how much longer I have to work out.

The other day, I took a walk down my road with a friend and discovered a hiking trail that starts less than a mile and a half from my house. So of course I had to go back and explore!

Saturday morning I ate a yummy clean breakfast, then headed out the door to get in touch with the natural world. I was walking just after sunrise and it was absolutely stunning.

hiking

One of the cool things about a new hiking trail is not knowing what to expect. You have no idea what the trail is going to be like, and that’s part of the fun. This trail was straight up a huge hill so I spent the next half a mile or so navigating a series of switchbacks that inevitably led to views like this:

benchsunlight

I suddenly didn’t even feel like I was in the city anymore. Awesome. Although I may be a city girl at heart, I love getting quiet time away from the hustle and bustle.

The harder part of the hike for me was the downhill on the other side of the hill. It was still switchbacks, but I definitely had to watch my step! I nearly faceplanted twice. Yes, I am that graceful. Why do you think I didn’t make it as a ballerina?

However, the slower pace and constant vigilance (thanks, Mad-Eye) paid off when I came off the trail and onto this view.

bull sluice lake

Um, is this really tucked away in the middle of Atlanta? I’m not telling where…it’s my secret for now. But seriously, I felt like I was somewhere completely different. I walked halfway around the lake before turning around and heading back to my apartment and reality.

But I found my urban oasis.

Do you prefer the city or the country?

I prefer the city, but I do love to escape for a little while, either to the beach or the mountains. It helps me come back to city life with a new perspective.

2 thoughts on “Urban oasis

  1. I can really relate. I would make so many excuses for not getting outside.

    What a beautiful spot you found!

Leave a Reply

