Uncategorized

Weekly workout update

Well, I’m on track to do wayyyyy better with workouts this week than I have in probably 3 or 4 months. That half marathon seemed to reignite some kind of fire in me. This is a good thing.

I ended up taking two unplanned rest days on Tuesday and Wednesday due to some serious exhaustion and tummy trouble, but today I’m feeling loads better and I’m going to try my first ever group run (dun dun dun…). However, if I stick with even short workouts today-Saturday, I’ll hit 5 workouts this week. That’s a huge improvement over the 1 or 2 workouts I’ve been forcing myself to do.

Sunday night I totally didn’t want to work out, but my yoga mat was staring judgmentally at me from the floor, so I sucked it up and tried a 30 minute video from Cassey Ho at Blogilates.

yoga mat

Stop looking at me with those judgey circles.

casseysshot

I wasn’t expecting to feel as much of a burn as I did. I have pretty strong abs, even if they are buried under a layer of flub, and ab workouts don’t usually give me too much of a sweat. I did Cassey’s Bangin’ Hot Body workout on YouTube, and I definitely felt it. In a rare move for me, I actually had to modify a few of the ab moves so that I could finish the set. You win, Blogilates. I’ll definitely keep incorporating Pilates into my workout routine if I feel my muscles like I did Sunday!

Monday, I packed up my workout gear to get in a lunchtime workout. We’re required to take an hour for lunch, and it generally only takes me 15-20 minutes to actually eat, so fitting in a quick run beforehand makes sense for my jam-packed work days.

lunch run

The pace was more like 10:30 because I got stuck at a few lights, but I’ll take 11 minute miles. I remember when I was excited to hold 12 minute miles, so I’m going to be grateful for this kind of improvement. And there were lots and lots of hills (the bane of my running existence). Midtown is hilly! From now on, I think I’m going to use Mondays to do hill repeats. There’s a killer hill right near my work that’s right at .25 miles long, so I think some repeats on that monster are in order. Plus, I see the personal trainers from the gym down the street using it all the time, so it must be effective, right?

The plan for the rest of the week is a group run at a local running store tonight, an upper body circuit tomorrow, and a 5k and yoga class on Saturday.

Hope everyone’s having a productive and sweaty week!

How are your workouts going this week?

Any workouts you’ve tried that surprised you with how hard they were?

2 thoughts on “Weekly workout update

  1. I’ve heard such great things about Blogilates workouts! I’m looking forward to trying them out. Did you stream it from your laptop or do you have Cassey’s DVDs?

Leave a Reply

