Very crafty

Pinterest obsessed

I’m baaaaaaack! It’s been forever and ever since I’ve blogged. Life got crazy. I moved. I’ve been trying to balance work and a social life. I still don’t have my internet set up at home (yes, I’m in the dark ages here). But honestly, a lot of it comes from the fact that I felt uninspired to write. Blogging was becoming a chore instead of something I really wanted to do.

Recently though, I’ve had all kinds of blog ideas pop into my head. So I decided it was time to write again. Which means you, my awesome readers, are still stuck with me!

Anywhos, now that I’ve offered a not-so-heartfelt apology excuse for my absence, let’s get into the fun stuff, shall we?

On Saturday, I decided it was time to stop obsessing over everything I saw on Pinterest and actually do some of the stuff. I hit up Hobby Lobby (Heaven on Earth) with my mom, and started spending money.

But first, I had to take a shameless selfie in the bathroom mirror to show everyone that, on occasion, I can actually put together an outfit beyond Nike shorts and a t-shirt. Pardon the crazy-intense face I’m making. And the stork pose. I needed you to see my shoes.

shameless selfie

Out of the three crafts I tried, two have turned out fairly nicely, and one I’m going to redo now that I have a better idea of what I want. The one I’m going to detail today, though, is from itsdoable.squarespace.com. It’s definitely my favorite, even if it’s the most labor intensive out of the bunch.

Here’s a side-by-side of the inspiration and my execution. I’m pretty sure you can guess which is which.

inspirationflowerunglued

Mixed media wall art

Materials:

  • A blank canvas (I used a 16”x20”)
  • Acrylic paint in whatever background color you want
  • 5 sheets scrapbook paper in different prints
  • Scissors
  • Hot glue gun

Instructions:

  1. Mix together paints to form desired background color. I went with a wine-y plum/red. Make sure to mix enough to cover the whole canvas, including the sides.
  2. Paint the entire canvas. Don’t forget the corners and edges. Let the canvas dry overnight.
  3. Begin cutting your scrapbook paper. Start by cutting the paper into 2”-3” strips. Eyeball it; it’s not important to be perfect here. Then cut the strips into 5 or 6 squares. Take each square and cut a curved line from corner to corner—cut another curved line from the same corner to the same corner to make your leaves. Also cut a circle to serve as your starting point.
  4. Place your circle somewhere off-center on your canvas. I went with the lower left corner, but other placements would look cool, too. Start building your flower using the scrapbook paper leaves. I started with the smaller leaves and built outward, ending with larger leaves. Throughout the process, I had to trim down pieces to make them fit how I wanted them to. It’s kind of a like a jigsaw puzzle.
  5. Now for the fun part: starting outwards and working your way back in, hot glue each piece to your canvas. This is time-consuming and labor-intensive. Make sure to wrap your leaves on the edge around the canvas. This makes it look nice and finished. Let the canvas dry. I chose overnight, just to be safe.
  6. Hang your new art up! Mine’s going in my living room as soon as I remember to buy some nails.

Here’s some side-by-sides of the leaf cutting.

cutting stripsscrapbook squaresMaking leavesleaves

This whole project took me less than four hours and cost less than $15. For a girl on a budget, you can’t beat that! I’m not always the most creative person, so if I can do it, anyone can. Seriously. I’ve also gotten a ton of compliments on it from everyone who’s seen it. Just have fun with it!

Have you tried any Pinterest projects?

I pin a kajillion things and say I’ll try them, but I think this is the first pin I’ve actually replicated.

Any homemade crafts on display at your abode? What are they?

This is the first one! Like I said, I just moved and I barely have any furniture, so I’m getting to decorate and accessorize a little at a time.

Leave a Reply

