Get fit · Healthy living

Excuses, excuses

So far, so good on Operation Earlybird. I got up early on Monday and Wednesday and did 30 minutes of exercise. It made a big difference in how I felt throughout the day, and I’m planning to keep the cycle going until it’s habit.

However, I had to seriously talk myself into getting out of bed both mornings. I mean, full-on internal dialogue with the proverbial angel and devil on my shoulder.

torn

The conversation goes something like this:

Angel: “Time to work out!”

Devil: “Hit snooze. It’s fine. You’ll work out tonight.”

Angel: “You know you won’t work out tonight. That’s why you started getting up early.”

Devil: “Okay, then you’ll work out tomorrow.”

Angel: “That defeats the purpose of today. You’re not going to fall back asleep anyways and you’ll feel guilty.”

This convo goes on in my head for at least ten minutes in the morning. Have I mentioned that I’m so not a morning person?

Thankfully, the angel on my shoulder has won so far. I think it involves her threats to slap the devil into next week. She’s feisty.

Excuses

I love this quote. If working out and eating right are truly important to me, I’ll find a way to make them happen. If not, I’ll keep making the same excuses I’ve made for years.

In honor of that, I’m listing some of my favorite excuses and how I can bust them up. Like. A. Boss.

  1. “I’m too tired to work out!”…“Working out gives me more energy throughout the day. What now?”
  2. “I’m still sore from yesterday’s workout. I can take today off.”… “Isn’t a workout one of the best ways to flush lactic acid out of your system? Nice try!”
  3. “The rest of the world is still sleeping.”… “Except for the people who aren’t making excuses.”
  4. “I’ll workout tomorrow. I promise!”… “Yesterday you said you’d start tomorrow. Guess what? It’s tomorrow.”
  5. “Missing a day won’t kill me.”… “Maybe not, but the disappointment you’ll feel for skipping might.”

Take that, excuses. My internal dialogues can get a little sarcastic and catty.

Today is one of my allotted days to sleep in, so I face a different set of excuses today. The excuses that tell me it’s okay to sit on my bootay and eat chocolate all day. Not that there’s anything wrong with chocolate.

I’m going to bust through those excuses by doing a short run and a circuit workout. I think. I might do an extended yoga practice. But I’m going to break a sweat no matter what.

247601_10151259192016287_1705287383_n

I love the UnderArmour What’s Beautiful campaign. I love that they focus on health rather than a picture of rock hard abs. This is a big excuse buster for me. It doesn’t matter what I do. It matters that I move every day, whether that be running, yoga, strength training, or dancing around like an idiot.

How do you bust through your mental excuses?

What’s your favorite way to sweat?

One thought on “Excuses, excuses

  1. Love the picture of Kovu from Lion King 2–I love that movie. For me, I know whenever I start makin excuses that I’ll regret it later, so I just tell myself it’s better to suffer now than beat myself up about it later on!

Leave a Reply

