Get fit · Running

Football multitasking

I really hate the treadmill. I mean, I just loathe it. I know there are some crazy awesome treadmill runners out there. In fact, a lot of the blogs I follow have some cah-razy treadmill chicks. SkinnyRunner did 20 miles on the treadmill recently, HunrgyRunnerGirl ran a treadmill marathon, and Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers trained for her first half marathon entirely on a treadmill.

However, as much as I love these blogs, and wish I was a treadmill B.A., I still hate it.

1-treadmill-350x234

Unfortunately, it was an overcast, rainy day in the ATL, and I had cute new running clothes from Big Peach Running Co. to try out.

photo

Adidas crops and RunATL t-shirt.

photo

Obviously, I had to break them in, despite the nasty weather. And since my Dawgs were playing, I decided I would watch the UGA/Tennessee game to beat the boredom.

Shocker: it worked! Okay, it kind of worked. I still don’t like the treadmill, but for some reason, I’ve found myself with a desire to own one?  I’m not sure where that insane thought has come from, but it keeps popping up in my mind.

Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to run, no matter what the weather’s like? Any time of day? When it’s dark and not-so-safe?

Despite my treadmill-bashing over the years, and my avoidance of it altogether, I discovered a few tips to make life on the moving belt a little less sucky.

  1. Change up your speed. I played with running pyramids. I adjusted my speed every 5 minutes up 0.1, then peaked, and adjusted back down. I did this several times at different paces.
  2. Challenge yourself. I made myself negative split 5 miles.
  3. Distract, distract, distract. This is where football came in. It’s easy to forget about mind-numbing treadmilling when you’re too busy swearing under your breath screaming out loud at your team.
  4. Get competitive, with yourself or someone else. Race!

tumblr_m2p85co00E1r7sb03

I would still rather run outside, but I feel like I can at least stomach treadmill workouts these days. As long as I can watch TV. Otherwise, all bets are off.

Do you workout on the treadmill or outside?

How do you beat treadmill (or cardio) boredom?

2 thoughts on “Football multitasking

  1. I personally prefer to run outside or on an indoor track. I’m really lucky that my gym has an indoor track, so once it starts getting cold I don’t have to resign myself to the treadmill. I find I have trouble running as long on the treadmill!

  2. My membership to my local gym ran out -not that I ever set foot in that place- so I don’t even have to think about the silly tread mills. Every time I used one at the gym I was bored to tears and for a while it had me convinced running wasn’t for me.

    Sure it sucks when the weather isn’t great but the TM can’t beat the beauty of nature. Specially now in Autumn. I take every opportunity to get out there and enjoy the fresh air. I bump into all the other joggers who jog at the same time or the local folks. The farmer down the road always says hello and has congratulated me on my progress..lol He saw me when I could barely walk. Now that I’m jogging I think he’s impressed.

    I’m really going to miss this in winter though. Either I will need to get over my fear of slipping in snow/ice and go for it or will have to think of other indoor cardio to do at home.

Leave a Reply

