Get fit · Running · Sports

7 miles in heaven

There’s something about running further or faster than I’ve run before that I just can’t describe. It’s the same feeling I got when I set a PR at a swim meet, or when I was in a shell full of 8 girls working together in perfect harmony, flying over the water. It brings one word to mind: ineffable.

in·ef·fa·ble; adjective

  1. incapable of being expressed or described in words; inexpressible: ineffable joy.
  2. not to be spoken because of its sacredness; unutterable: the ineffable name of the deity.

I certainly can’t express the feeling I have when I push myself to the limits and succeed.

However, let’s get past the flowery descriptions of the rush I felt, and get down to the physical business.

photo (1)

The kind folks at Sweat It Out were nice enough to send me some items to try out and review for y’all. Here, I’m wearing their quarter socks, compression shorts for low back pain, and sports bra. I’ll post a full review of the items later. For now, I have to say I wasn’t sure about the length of the shorts at first, but from this picture, I think I like the way they look.

As I got started, I headed down towards a park that my 5k races usually loops through. The original plan was to run the 5k course twice, then run home. However, in usual Caroline fashion, I changed my mind after the first time through the park. I was on a long run, and I was going to explore, dangit!

That ended up being the best decision I could have made. Running a new path was so much fun, and really took my mind off the miles that my legs were pounding out. Instead of focusing on how many miles I’d run, and how many miles I had left, I focused on the scenery around me.

l

I stopped at a CVS 5 miles in, and chugged a Powerade. Rookie mistake. I got some mild cramps from drinking too fast. Nothing that significantly altered my run, but slightly uncomfortable nonetheless.

Throughout the last 2 miles, I realized that I felt good. This is new for me. Running is uncomfortable. I’m not fast. I have to work really, really hard to run for more than 30 minutes. But today…today was different. I felt strong and fast through those last miles. I felt like I could have run further.

That’s what’s ineffable. I can’t put into words my feelings about what my body is doing for me after I’ve punished it for so long. The fact that I have even made it this far into half marathon training is an amazing feat. And I’m proud of myself. And proud of my body. I couldn’t have felt that way about myself a year ago.

That’s why these were 7 miles of heaven.

4 thoughts on “7 miles in heaven

    1. It’s taken me a long time, and a lot of it was building up my confidence that I could do it. I did run/walk intervals for a while and a lot of 5k races before I felt truly comfortable trying to go longer. Keep it up…you’ll get there sooner than you think!

  1. This post makes me smile for so many reasons .. but the best reason — You did what SO many people who aren’t natural runners do — you stuck with it until it got enjoyable!! So many people give up when the going gets tough, not realizing that if they stick with it, it will get easier/better. Keep it up, girl!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

