Get fit · Healthy living · Running

Walks with friends

I was planning on a slow 4 mile recovery run this morning, but once I got running, I felt so good that I decided to turn it into a tempo run. I’m hoping to finish my first half marathon in under 2 1/2 hours, so I ran at an 11:29 pace. I’ll need to hold 11:27 pace to finish, and I’m planning on lining up with a pace group. I want to make sure I can hold that pace, so I’ll be adding in some more mid-distance tempo runs.

After running, my roommate Jessica and I went for a walk.

003

She was a little excited about it.

Today is a gorgeous day, and I feel so lucky that I got to spend some time with my beautiful roomie.

001

We hit a roughly 2 mile loop through our neighborhood and downtown, and got to have some quality conversation. You know, about Speed Racer, Sheldon Cooper, and boys. Jess and I talked about all kinds of things, from work, to how nice the walk felt, to the Big Bang Theory.

I love working out with friends. It makes the time just fly by.

Speaking of the Big Bang Theory, a theme that kept coming up in our walk was…

tumblr_ldmoq7ZlSE1qeeq0no1_400

Also, Eye of the Tiger and the Star Wars theme song.

One of the things I love most about Jess is her willingness to just be silly. It brings out that silly side of me that I kept repressed for so long. She’ll skip, run, sing, and generally act a fool almost anywhere.

Like this…

005

And this…

006

She’s also yelling “SPEED RACER!” as she does this.

Keep in mind, this is in the middle of a busy street near our house. It inspires me to be around someone who’s so free all the time. I’ve seen her in a not-as-happy place, and it’s a blessing to see her this happy again. I love having girlfriends that I can be myself around, especially because I haven’t always had that. The women in my life now are so supportive of me, and it’s nice to feel like I don’t have to hide the “real me”. It motivates me to let my crazy out sometimes.

After all, I’ve got a lot of crazy.

Is there anyone who inspires you to let your true self out?

How do you let out your inner crazy?

One thought on “Walks with friends

  1. It’s my high school best friend Amanda who always encourages me to get my sillies out. We run at drastically different paces, so when we get together for a workout the focus is usually more on the fun and friendship (which I definitely need to help me chill out every once in a while!!). For us, it’s randomly busting out the “Phoebe-run” (please tell me you’ve seen that Friends’ episode!) or a Mission Impossible duck-and-cover roll (yes, in the middle of a random field). Or making up our own theme music. That’s what running and fitness are supposed to be about — getting a workout, but enjoying yourself as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

