Running · Sports

A six mile hurrah

Well, I didn’t use ‘Eye of the Tiger’ as my alarm ringtone, but I did get up this morning and do my six mile long run. And. It. Was. Awesome.

You know those perfect running days? Where the temperatures are cool, the humidity is low (or bearable. I do live in Atlanta, after all), and it’s partly sunny, so the run is just gorgeous? That was this morning. The weather was perfect. Perfect, perfect, perfect.

Additionally, I remembered running tights, so no chafing! Yeah, I’m sure you wanted to know about my chafing.

001

I’m not comfortable with my tush wobbling all over the place, so the shorts went on over the tights. It was comfy, but I also looked like I was wearing a black diaper. Dead sexy.

Anyways, I ran and open loop near my house that let me get in a 5 minute warm-up walk and a 5 minute cool-down.

mmrun6mi

Oh, yeah. There was a rated climb in there. No big. So what if it’s the easiest rating? It’s rated, for goodness sake! Also, if that’s an “easy” hill, I don’t want to see what the “hard” hills are like.

Anyways, I settled into a good rhythm pretty quickly, holding right around an 11:30 pace. To some of you fasty pants out there, this might seem slow, but it’s a good pace for me. I made a pit stop about halfway through the run to get a recovery drink, which seemed to make a huge difference in my running. Maybe it was just the 5 minute break I got.

As I continued on, the sidewalks gave way to repaving projects, so mile 5 was spent alternately running and picking my way through construction debris. I wasn’t frustrated, though, which is strange for me. I was just in the zone, doing my best mountain goat impersonation.

Because mile 5 destroyed my pace, I picked up the pace for the last mile, holding right around 10:30. With all the stopping and starting, I ended up at a 12:12 pace. Not what I was hoping for, but certainly not bad.

I swung by the QT near my house and picked up a Powerade Zero and a protein bar.

004

I don’t usually eat protein bars, because I’m not a fan of the sugars, but I was in a pinch. I always try to immediately eat back about 200 calories after a long workout to keep me from being a zombie for the rest of the day. Zombie Caroline is not cute.

The run as a whole felt awesome. I felt like I was unshakeable. Not everything went according to plan, but I was surprisingly okay with it. I was just enjoying the cool morning, the pounding of my feet on the pavement, and the sights and sounds of the day. Alright, I know that sounded super cheesy, but that’s how I felt.

After all, runs, and life in general, don’t always go our way. It’s when we find the beauty in it that we can truly enjoy what we’re doing.

End motivational speech with booming orchestra music.

How do you feel when you get in the zone?

Have you ever had those days where your workout just falls together?

3 thoughts on “A six mile hurrah

  1. I had the exact same kind of run today!! 🙂 It’s SUCH an amazing feeling isn’t it?!
    And don’t ever get down on yourself about your pace — ever! You’re going a heckuva lot faster than the people still sitting on their booties. As long as YOU feel YOUR best, YOUR strongest, and in YOUR zone, nothing else matters.
    Keep pushing!! Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

