Budget shopping · Healthy living · Recipe time · Running

Put it all together and what do you get?

Seeing as I am le broke, most of my shopping trips and meals consist of “what’s on sale at Harry’s this week?” I typically only budget about $25 a week for groceries, so shopping the sales is extremely important for me. I tried couponing, but I rarely found deals on the real, whole foods I enjoy eating.

One of the ways I save money is by shopping the bulk bins for rice, beans, and small veggies. I also try to get ingredients that will allow me to make at least one big meal that will feed me for multiple days.

Here’s the hodgepodge I came up with this week. I’m calling it Lemon Lentil soup, and I’m really hoping that it tastes good reheated.

Ingredients

2 boxes (4 c. each) vegetable broth

2 c. dried lentils (bulk bin find)

2 c. whole mushrooms (another bulk bin find)

2 small lemons

Any meat you want to add (I used tuna this week, but andouille sausage would be the bomb-diggity)

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Bring 1 box of broth to a boil with juice from 1 lemon in a large pot. Add lentils, then return to boil. Let lentils cook for abouit 45 minutes, or until soft and tender.

2. Slice mushrooms about 1/4 inch thick. Cook meat if needed.

3. Add remaining ingredients, juice from second lemon, and season to taste. Cook covered on low heat for about 90 minutes.

You can serve this hot, or refrigerate it and reheat it for leftovers. I’m going to end up using most of the recipe for lunch this coming week with a sweet potato or some fruit as a side. The recipe may take a long time to cook, but it’s super simple, and makes about 8 servings. Cost-wise, it comes to roughly $1.25 per serving. I’m good with that. Especially when lunch out will cost me a minimum of $5.

In other news, half marathon training hit a minor snag. I’ve developed a minor case of plantar fasciitis. Because of this, I didn’t run last week, nor did I run today, in hopes that I’ll be feeling good for tomorrow’s 6 miler. I’m hoping to get on the road running by 7:30 to enjoy the fall-ish weather we’re experiencing in Georgia right now.

Now, I just have to get off my lazy butt and do the darn thing. Motivation, anyone? Maybe if I set my alarm tone to play “Eye of the Tiger”…

What are some of your best “just throw it together” recipes?

How do you motivate yourself to get through your workouts?

3 thoughts on “Put it all together and what do you get?

  1. I hit plantar fasciitis too! Try stretching out your calves (as often as possible — I would try to do it once every 5-10 min while I was awake. Didn’t always hit the mark as I occasionally would forget, but seriously as often as possible!), and also try rolling your IT bands (if you don’t have a foam roller, which I don’t, try using a rolling pin. Lie on it on your IT band and roll up and down. Because all the tendons are attached all the way through, it loosens it all up.) Good luck — hoping you can get back on the road soon!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

