Budget shopping · Get fit · Healthy living

App happy

I jumped on the smartphone train late. I mean, really late. Like I just got an iPhone (and a 2 generation old one at that) last November. Before, I had a Nokia flip phone. Hot, right? It took a good minute or two for text messages to pull up.

Anywho, I digress. When I got the iPhone, I was super excited to try out the apps. Then I realized you have to pay for them. Say what?

After a momentary panic attack, I discovered there are some really cool apps that are free. So this morning, here’s  a short list of my personal faves. Besides Angry Birds. After all, who doesn’t love Angry Birds?

1. Nike+ Running

This little gem tracks my runs, my calories burned, my routes, everything. It’s pretty much the chiz. It used to not be free, but with popularity comes the ability to not charge, so you can all now run with the most awesomest tracker ever. At least it’s the best in my humble little opinion. I’ve tried several other apps, and I keep coming back to this one. And their updates have made the app super user friendly. It’s pretty much a slam dunk.

2. Nike Training Club

I promise, I’m not on Nike’s payroll. This app is one of the first I ever downloaded, and it’s a great circuit training app. I love that they have circuits that don’t require equipment so that I can do a workout whenever and wherever I want. I also love the rewards systems that Nike incorporates into its apps. It helps me push through a workout I might not otherwise do.

3. Fitocracy

Fitocracy is a relatively new app in my repetoire. It gives you points based on the workout you did, and then you move up through levels. Again, I like the reward system, but I also really like that there’s a social media aspect to this one. I get a lot of support from random people every time I workout. I also like the challenges or “quests” you can do on Fitocracy. It gives me something to do on days where I’m bored or not sure what to do.

4. MyFitnessPal

MFP is the original mackdaddy, start-all app for me. I had tried a million different ways to lose weight, but thanks to the MyFitnessPal app, the supportive community on the website, and the constant encouragement to be healthy that exists in the community, I’ve found the perfect fit for me. I’ve never seen a network of people who don’t know me be so supportive of me in my recovery from ED. I can’t say enough good things about this app.

Also, Fitocracy, Nike+, and MFP all have websites you can use. There are dozens more awesome apps out there–these are just the main four I use, and they’re free. I’m broke. I like free.  And I really like high quality for free.

So, if you’re looking for some super cool apps to add to your collection, or if you’re app-tarded like I was…listen to Bella.

Bella says, “technology’s awesome!”
2 thoughts on “App happy

  1. I still don’t have a smart phone and only got rid of my flip phone in May. haha. I’m going to be at least 3 years before I “get smart” … 🙂

  2. I’m with ya. I “drank the Kool Aid” and finally got an iPhone last month. Totally loving it, though. I also have MFP, but my favorite app right now is the Couch to 5K…you’re beyond that, though!

Leave a Reply

