Healthy living · Sports

It’s the most wonderful time of the year

It’s college football season!

At 12:21 PM this afternoon I will be watching my Georgia Bulldogs kick off against Buffalo.

In case you can’t tell, I love college football. Like, seriously love it. To me, college football signals the start of fall. Even though summer isn’t officially over until September 22nd, college football kickoff signals everything that’s right about the fall to me. What’s better than tailgating in the crisp fall weather?

It’s not just the tailgating that I love. What makes me happiest is the feeling of comradery that comes from sharing a common purpose and goal. Thousands of people cheering for the same reason? It’s everything I love about sports.

That’s a glorious sight.

Football season can present its challenges, however. The tailgating atmosphere isn’t exactly healthy. Fatty foods, copious amounts of alcohol, all day spent at the stadium instead of working out…all of these things are fun, but not necessarily the best for you.

In previous years, I’ve allowed football season to send me into a tailspin of drinking, healthy eating disasters, and binges, followed by a day of a self-loathing hangover.

I probably won’t be making it to any physical games this year, but viewing parties have presented the same challenges as a tailgate for me. Possibly more of a challenge, because the eating doesn’t stop during the game!

I don’t drink anymore, so I don’t need to worry about that part of the equation. However, I still struggle with food and my disordered eating patterns. Every year, football has inevitabely led to binge cycles.

Not this year. I’m following a plan of moderation. Stick to my workouts, bring healthy options to viewing parties. And if I splurge, I’m adopting a mindset that its okay.

That’s what ED recovery is about. Being okay with food. Eating something because I want it, not because I need it to feed an emotion. And understanding and forgiving myself if I slip. There is nothing that’s worth going back to the emotional ups and downs of disordered eating.

After all, I’m getting enough of an emotional roller coaster from the game, right?

Sic ’em!

 

One thought on “It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Leave a Reply

