Get fit · Running

I survived day one (kind of)

As I blogged this morning, today starts my journey toward the Atlanta Half Marathon on Thanksgiving Day. After I wrote my post, I laced up my shoes and took off into my neighborhood. The weather today was overcast and humid, but I was hoping I could get through my 3 miles before the rain hit.

I turned away from my normal running route to run through the downtown area. I live in a suburb, so downtown looks like this:

I like running through downtown, because the views are pretty and there are sidewalks everywhere. Not so true of the neighborhoods surrounding mine.

I was feeling really good, jamming out to some hard rock on my iPod, and for some reason, I was in the zone today. I was running almost a full minute faster per mile than I normally do, and I was holding splits under 10:00 for a lot of the run.

As I came around back towards my house, however, I realized that I had grossly misjudged how long my route was. Note to self: MapMyRun is there…use it! I was headed for the last half mile, having only run a mile and a half. For some reason, I thought that loop was longer.

Thankfully, there’s a nice park near my house that I ducked into to get a little more mileage.

It wasn’t quite enough mileage, though, and the wind was starting to get really rough. I began getting worried that I might get caught in the rain. Considering my iPod has been through enough carnage, I wasn’t about to get it wet. So I headed for the house.

All told, I ran 2.3 miles at a 10:46 pace. This may not be fast to a lot of people, but if I had kept that pace through another 0.8 miles, I would have PRed my 5k time. By a full minute.

I’m not too bummed about missing less than three-quarters of a mile of my first training run. Things happen. Plus, I have a nice 2 lap loop to run tomorrow. I’m going to hit those 4 miles hard!

4 thoughts on “I survived day one (kind of)

  1. You got out there and did what you set out to do and rocked it — no shame girl!! 🙂 Comparisons will kill you, everyone’s backgrounds and experiences are different. Keep it up! I can’t wait to read about your progress!! 🙂
    Oh, and totally adorable buildings. Running is always better with something great to look at, I think.

Leave a Reply

