Recipe time · Uncategorized

Chorizo, zucchini, and pepperjack, oh my!

I’m not gonna lie, I’m replacing the lyrics to ABBA’s “Dancing Queen” with “cooking queen” in my head…

And this bad boy is the reason why! I whipped this up tonight to slice up in the mornings and eat for breakfast. This is the second week in a row I’ve made a frittata. I like fritattas for a couple of reasons.

a) They’re easy and don’t take long to make.

b) They only require a few ingredients. Since I’m on a super tight budget, I like things that are fairly cheap and feed me for a long time.

c) They’re delicious. Seriously. I mean, how wrong can you go with eggs and cheese?

Those all sound like awesome reasons to me. I also really like that I can customize each fritatta so I can eat these week after week and not get bored. A high protein content also helps me out a lot, since some days I don’t get a chance to really eat from seven to noon. And me getting really hungry is like asking the Hulk to come out and play. Or like watching one of those “messin’ with Sasquatch” commercials.

Anyways, let’s get to the meat of the post (see what I did there? Wink, wink).

Chorizo, Zucchini, and Pepperjack Fritatta

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound of ground chorizo
  • 1 medium zucchini, chopped, about 1 cup yield
  • 6 large eggs. I use cage free brown eggs because I like them better, but any eggs will do the trick.
  • 4 oz pepperjack cheese, grated

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a frying pan, brown the chorizo.
  3. Once the chorizo is browned, drain away the fat, then add the zucchini and cook until tender. This only takes a couple of minutes, so keep a close watch!
  4. While the zucchini is cooking, whisk together the eggs in a bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Pour the eggs over the chorizo/zucchini mixture, then stir lightly to mix. Let sit until the edges of the eggs set (when the eggs start to look a little dry around the edge of the pan).
  6. Top the fritatta with the cheese, then stick the whole frying pan in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.

You can eat it straight out of the oven, or let it cool, then slide it onto some tinfoil to wrap up for later. If you don’t have access to ground chorizo, ground sausage would taste great in this, too. I typically cut my fritattas to serve six, but it’s up to you how much or how little you want in a serving.

Because you are the cooking queen, young and sweet…

Leave a Reply

